What can I eat with celiac disease and lactose intolerance?
Asked by cmgreene on Mar 21, 2008 in Health Conditions



I am a 42 year old woman just diagnosed with Celiac disease. I am also lactose intolerant.  I am losing my mind trying to figure out WHAT I can safely eat.  Please Help!!!


Answer

With celiac disease, you cannot eat foods containing wheat, barley, rye, and sometimes oats.  You can eat rice, corn, potatoes, fruits, vegetables, meat, fish, eggs, beans, and oils.  Gluten-free grain products are available online and at markets like Whole Foods.  You can get gluten-free cereal, bread, baking mixes, pizza shells, hamburger buns and more. For the best information, join organizations like the Gluten Intolerance Group and the Celiac Disease Foundation.  They have local chapters and a listserv where you can get the word on the street.

 

If your lactose intolerance is secondary to the celiac disease, it might subside on the gluten-free diet.  If not, do partake in the wide range of lactose-free products available in supermarkets.  You can also use lactose-free milks from soy, rice or almonds.  Look for those that have been fortified with calcium and vitamin D.  Your gastroenterologist can refer you to a dietitian who is specializes in your conditions.  Read more about gluten free foods on About.com.

   


Join Calorie Count - it's easy and free!
CREATE FREE ACCOUNT
Advertisement
Advertisement