Vegetarian
Moderators: brighteyes82


activia - "not suitable for vegetarians" ???!!!


Quote  |  Reply

So I ate a strawberry activia this morning...glanced at the small print and saw the words "not suitable for vegetarians"

I then paniced as a) i had just finished eating it and b) as i'm recovering from anorexia these yoghurts are forming a very big and important part of my diet!!!! stopping the bloating AND providing the calcium!

I checked all the other flavours and they all said they were "suitable"....but I can't find anything in the strawberry ingredients or on the website to explain why this one wasn't!

I know it sounds like a really wierd question - but its really been bugging me!...If I've gone and broken my vegi-diet I want to know why and over what!! So does anyone know why strawberry activia is anti-veg?!

 

 

7 Replies (last)
#1  
Quote  |  Reply

Probably contains gelatine.  Strawberries do not contain much pectin, which is what is used in jams and jellies to keep them jelled.  I wouldn't be surprised if that was the ingrediant that makes it non-veg, gelatine is made from animal products.

You can't change having eaten that one, but you can find the varieties that are vegetarian in the future.

Original Post by meekipoof:

It could contain carmine/cochineal for coloring, which is crushed beetles. I'd email the company and ask them what is in the yogurt that isn't vegetarian.

 Yes it indeed includes carmine, I read this on a  forum somewhere the other day, so that's why they have to state it's not suitable for vegetarians.

Original Post by bruise_violet:

I checked all the other flavours and they all said they were "suitable"....but I can't find anything in the strawberry ingredients or on the website to explain why this one wasn't!

I checked the other flavours and they all contain either gelatin or carmine. Don't panic though... just switch brands! If you choose organic yogurt, the odds of it containing animal ingredients (besides milk) are lower. Check the labels!

 

Thank  you so much for the replies!

I've always avoided gelatine but never even knew about carmine - I've done my research now and am on full guard - ground beetles? It's disgusting...I've actually gone around checking all my food labels!

Problem is I have to drink 2 ensure plus a day ... all the flavours I can mildly tolerate seem to contain this stupid e120/carmine - ARGH...

Anyway thank you all so much for the quick replies...you've opened my eyes!!!

(I'm not going NEAR anything with that in again!)

Also, if you're concerned about carmine, a lot of makeup contains it.  Just fyi.

7 Replies
Advertisement
Advertisement
Allergy Remedies
Is It Possible to Go Natural?
The side effects of allergy medications keep some people from using them. Natural remedies can be a great alternative, but some are more effective than others.