Vegetarian
Moderators: brighteyes82


Suprise...It's NOT vegetarian!


Quote  |  Reply
Ummm-so I HATE McDonalds anyway but those sneaky devils tricked me back with there fruit and walnut salads with gelatin-free yogurt and the Asian salad.  However-be warned-the NEWMAN'S SOUTHWEST dressing is NOT vegetarian.  Read the label!

So-my purpose here today is to simply get people to list surprise non-veggie foods.

It may be old news but gelatin is a pork product (mcd's shakes, Skittles, Starburst, Ice breaksers gum, etc...)

Please add as many foods as you can so that people can just glance at the list and know where NOT to eat and when they must eat at cetain places, they know what NOT to eat.  Thanks!
131 Replies (last)

This might just be me, but I've been vegetarian for 9 years now and never think about meat by-products. Like, if I look at the ingredients in a soup and it says very obviously "beef stock", or "shrimp paste" (in those Asian noodle thingies), I won't eat it. But other than that (jello, milkshakes, Altoids, etc,) I'm cool with.

I eat dairy (even though I'm trying to cut back because I have bad allergies,) but I don't eat "flesh". No fish, nothing. I love McDonald's fries Cry. Lol! As long as it's not an actual piece of carcass on the plate in front of me, I'll probably eat it. I don't really want to know about all of the by-products in every. single. product. because I'm the type of person who gets really obsessive about things and I probably would end up not eating very much at all. Lol!

Hm.  My vegetarian friend must not know that yogurt isn't veggie-friendly... as it's about all she ever eats.

 

She's not a vegetarian for any good reason though, she just grew up with it and thinks meat is "icky" so has never tried any.

 

Think she'd want to know?

I avoid all beef stock but I've eaten marshmellows and probably gelatin in candies. One day when I have the time and money to cut out all meat products I can but, for now I'll do my best.  Give up chocolate? impossible! Give up pasta and ice cream to become vegan? NO WAY. The idea of becoming a vegetarian is not to become miserable. I eat vegetarian because it is healthy, better for the planet and cuts down on unessecary suffering. I read food labels but not religiously!

Beans are a good substitute for meat by the way. Especially in the winter when it's so cold!

Original Post by shimmerkittenglow:

I avoid all beef stock but I've eaten marshmellows and probably gelatin in candies. One day when I have the time and money to cut out all meat products I can but, for now I'll do my best.  Give up chocolate? impossible! Give up pasta and ice cream to become vegan? NO WAY. The idea of becoming a vegetarian is not to become miserable. I eat vegetarian because it is healthy, better for the planet and cuts down on unessecary suffering. I read food labels but not religiously!

Beans are a good substitute for meat by the way. Especially in the winter when it's so cold!

you don't have to give up chocolate, pasta, or ice cream to go vegan! most pasta is vegan except for egg noodles. i eat dark chocolate every day. coconut milk or soy milk ice cream is wonderful.

just throwing that out there :)

This one has not been mentioned yet and is important as more and more food is genetically modified.  I understand GMO Strawberries were diced and spliced with the DNA of a lizard to extend shelf life. (I can't seem to find the reference for this but I did find a few references to GMO Strawberries DNA mixed with the DNA of cold water Flounder.  This was done to help the strawberries grow in colder climates, it was also attempted with tomatoes but unsuccessful in the case of the tomatoes.)

I think as a vegetarian or vegan you have to read your labels!!!  Eat fresh food (meaning fresh produce-vegetables and fruits) and organic (which is GMO free) when possible and you will find it easy to stay in your limits.  Look for unprocessed foods or grow your own!  Make your own dressings, it's not hard actually.  I hardly ever buy processed foods, except cereals for my kiddos and then I try to stay organic or all natural. 

Larabars are great and all natural!!  Made from nuts and dried dates, and some spices.  I keep one in my purse so when I get hungry I always have something to snack on.  Then there is no temptation to eat fast food! Well, except Starbucks, :).

For chips- try Kettle they have a new baked variety, and it's all natural and vegan. 

If you are eating Vegan or Vegetarian for health reasons, also look into preservatives, they are horrible for you and in most processed foods. 

Good health to you all!  :)

rachcummins - lizard dna in strawberries?!?!?! so freaky! geez.

GUMMY BEARS is I guess an obvious and sad one that I know of... 

Ahh yes, the more you know... (1980's TV public service announcement with star)...

Original Post by karen20061979:

Ummm-so I HATE McDonalds anyway but those sneaky devils tricked me back with there fruit and walnut salads with gelatin-free yogurt and the Asian salad.  However-be warned-the NEWMAN'S SOUTHWEST dressing is NOT vegetarian.  Read the label!

So-my purpose here today is to simply get people to list surprise non-veggie foods.

It may be old news but gelatin is a pork product (mcd's shakes, Skittles, Starburst, Ice breaksers gum, etc...)

Please add as many foods as you can so that people can just glance at the list and know where NOT to eat and when they must eat at cetain places, they know what NOT to eat.  Thanks!

The veggie burgers in Mcdonalds are not vegetarian apparently. They say it's made with vegetables not for vegetarians. They sometimes cook it in beef fat. Weird.

Original Post by insularfly:

Original Post by karen20061979:

Ummm-so I HATE McDonalds anyway but those sneaky devils tricked me back with there fruit and walnut salads with gelatin-free yogurt and the Asian salad.  However-be warned-the NEWMAN'S SOUTHWEST dressing is NOT vegetarian.  Read the label!

So-my purpose here today is to simply get people to list surprise non-veggie foods.

It may be old news but gelatin is a pork product (mcd's shakes, Skittles, Starburst, Ice breaksers gum, etc...)

Please add as many foods as you can so that people can just glance at the list and know where NOT to eat and when they must eat at cetain places, they know what NOT to eat.  Thanks!

The veggie burgers in Mcdonalds are not vegetarian apparently. They say it's made with vegetables not for vegetarians. They sometimes cook it in beef fat. Weird.

That's the stinky thing about fast-food veggie burgers, they always have to go and cook them in meat. And even if they don't, I'm fairly sure that they are cooked on the same grill that the meat ones are cooked on. I might just be paranoid about this, but I don't touch veggie burgers unless I'm eating at a strictly vegetarian restaurant. Mostly for the yuck factor. 

Daiya cheese is made with rice milk.  It's similar to Follow Your Heart soy cheese, but Daiya doesn't contain soy.  It's manufactured in Chicago, so it may be hard to find in some areas of the country.  If you can't find it in your local health food store, you could ask them to order it for you.

the cream filling inside oreo cookies are geletan, i looked it up on the internet and its basically crushed up animal bones and they bleach it,dont forget jello..

Original Post by shinyredbutton:

the cream filling inside oreo cookies are geletan, i looked it up on the internet and its basically crushed up animal bones and they bleach it,dont forget jello..

Actually, in the US Oreos are vegan.

http://www.nabiscoworld.com/Brands/ProductInf ormation.aspx?BrandKey=ritz&Site=&Pro duct=4400000820

check it out. Definately not healthy, but they're a nice treat from time to time. 

131 Replies (last)
Advertisement
Advertisement
Allergy Remedies
Is It Possible to Go Natural?
The side effects of allergy medications keep some people from using them. Natural remedies can be a great alternative, but some are more effective than others.