Weight Loss
Moderators: coach_k, Mollybygolly, spoiled_candy, devilish_patsy, nycgirl

Am I eating enough?

Quote  |  Reply

This is my first forum post, so apologies if this topic has already been done to death and/or is annoying. If so, just kindly tell me to zip it and I'll be on my way.

Anyway, here's the breakdown:

• 23 year old female, 5'6", 170 lb.
  • ~35 minutes of cardio every day plus lots of walking, trying to expand it to 60 minutes of cardio every day
  • eating between 1,200 and 1,300 calories a day

According to the BMR calculation which I've somehow only found out about today, I'm not getting enough calories. However, I'm pretty strict about my intake. I don't binge and the only times I go over my daily goal are when I have no choice (eating out with friends, family occasion) and it happens rarely.

I've been monitoring my calories for nearly two months now and exercising daily for a month. Since starting... I haven't actually lost any weight. However, I've noticed an increase in strength/endurance, clothes fit looser, and I'm pretty sure I've just been losing fat and replacing it with muscle. That's why I haven't even thought of this as a problem until now. So... is it a problem at all, then?

11 Replies (last)

You weigh more than me and I eat 600-800 calories more than you a day, and I am losing about 2 pounds a week. Yes, I am a male, which changes things a bit, but the point is, you should be eating more. Also, the more you exercise, the more calories you need. So don't increase your cardio if you are doing it to lose more weight. That is kind of pointless, since your deficit from working out should always be around 500, give or take. 

I'd say you'd be safe increasing your calories to 1400-1500 a day. However, it depends how much you are trying to lose. This site gives a pretty good estimate. But keep in mind that the extreme setting may cause problems later on, if you want to get to a very low body fat percentage.